Buhari Appoints Prof Mahmoud Yakubu as New INEC Chairman


President Muhammadu Buhari today appoint Professor Mahmud Yakubu as new chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC. The appointment was ratified in the course of the Council of State meeting convened today by President Buhari.

Sokoko State governor, Aminu Tambuwal who addressed the press said the appointment of the new INEC chairman was in conformity with relevant provisions of the constitution and in consultation with the Council of State. According to Tambuwal, the Acting chairman of the Commission, Amina zakari, is now the INEC Commissioner in charge of North-West.

The President also appointed new INEC commissioners for the commission. They are the outgoing acting chairman, Mrs Amina Zakari (Jigawa)–North-West; Dr Antonla Taiye Okoosi (Kogi)–North-central; Alhaji Baba Shettima Arfo (Borno)–North-east; Dr Mohammed Mustafa (Edo)–South-south; Mr Soyebi Adedeji Solomon (Ogun)—South-west.

The Council of State, however, retained Ambassador Lawrence Nwuruku who is currently representing the South-east

President Buhari appointed Amina Bala Zakari the acting chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), on June 30 following Professor Attahiru Jega’s completion of four-year term.

Prof Yakubu born in Bauchi in 1962 and had his early education at Kobi Primary School from where he proceeded to the Teachers’ college, Toro and later to the University of Sokoto (now Usmanu Danfodiyo University) where he graduated with a First Class Honours Degree in History. He is the first and only person from the whole of Northern Nigeria to have obtained a first class Honours Degree in History.

Yakubu later gained admission to the prestigious University of Oxford where he bagged a Doctor of Philosophy Degree with specialization in Nigerian History at the age of twenty-nine (29) in 1991.

He was a recipient of the Bauchi State Government Scholarship to study at both the Cambridge and Oxford Universities in England and his outstanding intellectual artistry at Cambridge further earned him the scholarship of the Cambridge Commonwealth Trust.

Professor Mahmoud was a three time-time winner of the over Overseas Research Student (ORS) Award by the London-based Committee of Vice-Chancellors of United Kingdom (UK) Universities. He was also a proud recipient of the competitive Commonwealth Scholarship by the Association of Commonwealth Universities tenable at the University of Oxford.

In 2007, Professor Mahmood was appointed the Executive Secretary of the Education Trust Fund (ETF) now known as Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TETFund). Professor Mahmoud is an expert in guerrilla warfare, terrorism and counter-terrorism.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here